Student Spotlight with Sergio Enriquez

Posted on Updated on

Interview by Courtney Crisp

SergioEnriquez

Tell us a little about yourself!

My name is Sergio Enriquez and I am a police officer for the City of Santa Ana, 22 years of service. I was born in Los Angeles, but raised in Downey, CA. I live in Santa Ana with my wife Liz and my 13-year-old daughter Savina.

What brought you to Pepperdine/the field of psychology?

With respect to psychology, I like to think that psychology chose me and not the other way around. I served 17 years before I decided to back to school to pursue my undergrad in psychology. After reaching the halfway point of my career, I wanted to study a discipline that would enhance my understanding of people in general, as well as being able to understand my own experiences.

I selected Pepperdine because of its reputation amongst professionals in the mental health field, as well as the flexibility in class schedules.

What are you hoping to do/who are you hoping to work with after you receive your Pepperdine degree?

I would like to obtain a PsyD so I can work with the law enforcement community in selecting new recruits, create wellness programs, and work with peer support groups during critical incidents.

What has been your favorite Pepperdine class so far and why?

Anne Kerbrat’s group therapy class (PSY 606). I appreciated getting to know everyone in class at a level that I may never again experience. I also enjoyed the diversity of our respective backgrounds. It gave me an opportunity to be an ambassador of law enforcement, thereby embracing the opportunity to show another side of my profession.

What have you learned from other students at Pepperdine?

That diversity in ideas with the ability to be open can yield far more learning than you ever intended.

What is your favorite quote?

I have two…”stand up for what’s right, even if you stand alone”

“It’s not about how hard you get knocked down, it’s about how fast you get up”

Who has been the biggest influence on your life?

My father because he taught me about staying true to my word.

What might people be surprised to know about you?

Two things – I love taking care of my trees and I’m a book hoarder.

Where is your go-to relaxation spot on your nights off?

The dinner table with my wife and daughter.

What is your favorite food?

 Anything that goes well with red wine.

Leave a Reply

